Writing “That Good Night” by Kenneth Lemm

I am still dazed by the experience afforded by the 50 Kisses competition. I stumbled across the competition quite by accident, and immediately envisioned the story I would set out to tell. It was one of those moments when later asked ‘where did you get your idea?’ you realize you don’t know yourself. The story came together quickly and passionately, and I was thrilled when the announcement of the fifty winning scripts included “That Good Night.”

This promised to be the first script I’d written thus far to be filmed!

 

That’s when the heartburn began. One by one, as I watched filmmakers line up to announce the films they would be making, “That Good Night” remained unselected. My thrill turned quickly to doubt. Was my story too long? Too ambitious? Too dramatic? Too expensive?

 

Just as resignation was about to overtake hope, Gail Hackston put me in touch with Turkish director/producer Stare Yildirim. Stare had a captivating vision for the film she would make from my script. Over the long distance between us, and challenging time zone differences, Stare and I worked together on a rewritten script that fused her cinematic vision with the story I hoped to tell. Her ideas were inspiring, and brought the characters to life for me in a way I never imagined.

 

The morning I awoke to find an eMail with a link to the initial rough cut version of the film was an experience I hope to remember for a very long time.

 

Being able to share the completed film with friends, family and peers is a reward itself. I am very appreciative to Chris, Gail, and the 50 Kisses team for giving me this opportunity, and wish them luck in the daunting task of pulling the final film together.

Comments: 3 (Discussion closed)
  • #1

    Anil Rao (Friday, 14 December 2012 01:27)

    Very nice to have read this Kenneth, heartfelt and honest, as I have already put it to Stare, one of the films that has grabbed me very much and a most wonderful contribution to this whole idea.

    Best wishes
    Anil.

  • #2

    Ken Lemm (Friday, 14 December 2012 16:23)

    Thanks, Anil. I appreciate that compliment coming from you after reading your great script and seeing the various adaptations of "Neil." This has definitely been a roller caoster ride, but one I'd gladly line up for again! Cheers! Ken

  • #3

    Anil Rao (Friday, 14 December 2012 19:14)

    You are very welcome Ken, however I just do have to point out mate, that Nigel Karikari wrote the script for Neil, and a 7-8 of us rose up to the challenge of making it.

    You found the right person to take yours onboard and to the screen and how wonderful it is, truly. Stare did an amazing job, you should be proud, as should she of accomplishing what you wrote as a film.

    I am always inspired how other filmmakers make their movies and their choices, and what drives them. It is a roller coaster for sure and as you say, I too am always happy to get onboard them.

    Best wishes
    Anil.