Acting in the 50 Kisses Project

I was delighted to act in « Love », directed by Phil Peel, screenplay by Rob Burke. When I first heard of the 50 kisses, I told myself « I really got to be in it ! ». I searched through the web, but I couldn’t find any team or film-maker taking part in the competition. So, I posted a message on the project’s page inviting directors to visit my website www.lulasuassuna.com and watch my showreel.

I knew the chances of someone with an appropriate role for me, coming across my message, watching my showreel and inviting me for a casting weren’t particularly good. A couple of weeks later, though, I received an e-mail from Phil sending me the script and inviting me to play the lead in his short film. I took a look at his website and I was very impressed by his good work. Plus, no audition required ; what a great honour ! I really liked the script and specially, my character : a tourmented man intending to do something really gruesome. An essential touch of darkness and bitterness among those 50 kisses.
 
After receiving some feedback, the writer made some adjustments to the text and a tragic flashback scene was cut. « What a pity », I thought: a bad thing happening to the character is always a good thing happening to the actor. In terms of logistics, however, that made things a lot easier for us.
 
My role is silent and that made things a bit tougher. What you say is always a consequence of what you think and feel ; delivering your lines usually entails a natural understanding of your character’s needs. When the script gives you nothing to say and a lot to do, the stakes rise. You must create much stronger backstories and subtext than usual. You must keep them all permanently pulsating in your head and guts, cause nothing’s on the paper. Only then you can reinforce your character and underpin each one of his actions without the lines’ support. Not an easy task. Especially not when shooting inside the tube with lots of distracting thing all around and people constantly staring at you. I definitely had to strengthen my attention. No coffee breaks and fooling around between takes this time, but I just loved the novelty and the challenge. Oh yes : and scaring some peaceful passengers was really fun too! Thanks to Philip, our excellent cast and crew for the great day. The final result is gorgeous ! Now, let’s hope for the best ! Lula Suassuna

Comments: 5 (Discussion closed)
  • #1

    Rob Burke (Saturday, 10 November 2012 01:24)

    Lula - great job of bringing "The Man" to life. Your powerful performance captured exactly what I had in my head when I put pen to paper and created him.

    Cheers,

    Rob Burke

  • #2

    Evan (Saturday, 10 November 2012 04:38)

    Loved the film and your performance.

  • #3

    Deanna (Saturday, 10 November 2012 10:24)

    Great performances and a great day filming - it was what guerilla film making is all about.

  • #4

    Lula Suassuna (Saturday, 10 November 2012 13:27)

    Hi Rob, thanks a lot for your beautiful comment. It was a great pleasure playing that character and congratulations for the wonderful script!

  • #5

    Evan (Saturday, 10 November 2012 15:41)

    I'd also like to add I was thinking about these images for days after I saw this short. In the end this is due largely to the performances, and the director who was keen enough to bring them out and capture them. But specifically the magic is in the nuances: the girl's subtle gestures of disappointment and then happiness, mom's guidance and his internal conflict. All these notes were played softly, but that's what made them so loud.